The Voice of the Unity

Vengeance is a Cruel Mistress

He’s so po’, he can’t afford the o and the r

with 6 comments

Thanks to the 4 day weekend in the US, I’ve got plenty of time to cause trouble this time around. So it was that I scanned down an Abaddon in Orkashu. He’s doing “The Damsel in Distress” level 4, and had just finished it. I start salvaging and take a few choice bits just to see if he’ll shoot. He warps out. I put on my sad face, but continue working over the loot. Not much of note, lots of Metal Scraps, which fills up my cargo hold a little too fast for my liking.

After the 3rd Large wreck, the Abaddon warps back in, this time on the mission objective can, then locks me up and drops drones. I move closer, just to see if he’ll take the bait. He does. IT’S ARMAGEDDON TIME. I bookmark a wreck next to him and warp out.

I quick-like jumpback to Penirgman, roaring over to the station there and dropping my pod into my Armageddon. A quick check of the laser systems, a swap out of the Berserkers for Ogres (this was a mission with lots of Explosive damage from the Macharial-flying NPCs) and I’m out again, cursing the slow align speed of my Armageddon.

Getting back into Orkashu, I warp in, enabling hardeners and DCU as I go. This should be a fun fight – an unprepared Abaddon versus my finely honed Armageddon. Arriving at the mission, I find him 25km off of my bookmark, motoring toward another wreck at a stately 102 m/s. This just won’t do. Overloading my Warp Disruptor II, I slap it on him as my lock resolves, ensuring he can’t go far. At 114 m/s, I’m barely faster than him, but I start to close the range. My lasers are happy at this range, too – 24km is right inside my Scorch optimal, purple lines lancing out to spear shields, then armor away from the floundering Abaddon. I’m actually quite surprised at how well a Battleship overloads – I get a full 5 cycles out of my warp disruptor before any heat damage registers.

Getting inside 23km, I bring my warp disruptor back to normal power, but as I’ve chewed through most of his armor, I send him a conversation request. I want to see if I can ransom him.

Merii Kha’sen > cease fire immediately
Merii Kha’sen > 100m for your ship
Merii Kha’sen > you have 30 sec
Baul Baulinea > stop
Merii Kha’sen > I repeat
Merii Kha’sen > 100m
Merii Kha’sen > you have 30 sec

He actually does cease fire. Amazing. He doesn’t reply after 30 sec, though, so I open fire again.

Merii Kha’sen > no?
Baul Baulinea > what

Aha, there we go.

Merii Kha’sen > 100 million isk
Merii Kha’sen > or your ship dies
Baul Baulinea > yes
Merii Kha’sen > transfer it NOW
Baul Baulinea > mom

MOMMY! MERII’S BEATING UP MY ABADDON.

Baul Baulinea > i have 70mio
Merii Kha’sen > eject from your ship then
Baul Baulinea > by this char
Merii Kha’sen > I’ll return the hull sans modules
Merii Kha’sen > also, stop immediately.

Ah, the old “I don’t have it” gag. He does stop, though, letting me get closer and switch to Conflagration L.

Merii Kha’sen > also, stop immediately.
Merii Kha’sen > good boy.
Baul Baulinea > stop i can give you
Baul Baulinea > what i have
Merii Kha’sen > fair enough
Merii Kha’sen > as I said, you have 30 sec to transfer.

Blinky, blinky, blink! My wallet is happy now. 70m confirmed. I’m a terrible person, though. F1.

Merii Kha’sen > SUDDENLY
Baul Baulinea > thats all i have
Merii Kha’sen > BETRAYAL
Merii Kha’sen > Vengeance is a cruel mistress.

Green beams and Ogre IIs tear the ship apart, leaving an Abaddon Wreck floating in space. Cool loot, bro! Also, the Damsel! Nice. This’ll fetch 20m on Contracts.

I zip back to the station with my goods, then go put up a Contract with the Damsel. It’s always good practice to do this, because if you don’t, the GMs may give them the mission items anyway, because just taking the items without offering them back is “grief play.” I mail him a copy of the contract just for giggles.

He accepts it. So, just to recap: that’s 70m for the ransom, 20m for the contract, then at least 50m from the loot… happy day!

Now, the tears start.

2009.11.26 18:15
i give you all my isk why you destroy my ship ?

Reply: You just got ninja’d, son!

2009.11.26 18:24
i;am reaktivate my charakter today, and now i can not fly any missions , sry but this is very bad 4me, and for you this isk is not to much, when
you have a little bit heart y will give me minimum this isk back

greatings Baul

Man, don’t shoot at ninjas. Bad things happen. Reply:

;_;

His response:

2009.11.26 18:35
funny, but i;am not crying , 4me this is only a game,
have fun with this
only what i think is, one man one word, but you are no man, you a woman

If you like this… well, we’re still recruiting!

Written by Merii Kha'sen

November 26, 2009 at 7:00 pm

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You give yourself a bad name by dishonoring an agreement you made (making you a liar). You give everyone who makes it a career to ransom victims a bad name. You give all ninjas a bad name. People are not going to trust you to keep your word. Ransoms will dry up. Why would they pay it if you’re just going to destroy them? You fail at safeguarding your future income potential.

    Alexia Morgan

    November 26, 2009 at 8:54 pm

    • Since I made him quit the game (I hope I did anyway!) it doesn’t really matter. My income is not from ransoms. It’s from taking their stuff, which they can’t stop anyway. Whether they pay the ransom or not is not something I care about. If I was lowsec pirating, yeah, I would let them go. That’s important, but that’s because that’s the majority of your income.

      White knight tears are best tears.

      Merii Kha'sen

      November 26, 2009 at 9:04 pm

    • “You give yourself a bad name by dishonoring an agreement you made (making you a liar). You give everyone who makes it a career to ransom victims a bad name. You give all ninjas a bad name. People are not going to trust you to keep your word. Ransoms will dry up. Why would they pay it if you’re just going to destroy them? You fail at safeguarding your future income potential.”

      Cold up there on that moral pinacle?

      ShadowMaiden

      November 26, 2009 at 9:13 pm

  2. Confirming Merii is a terrible person. Join Unity Exploration today!

    Gunnar Graves

    November 27, 2009 at 8:04 am

  3. You awful awful man! I love it! Your action makes me proud to be a ninja. Don’t listen to the haters.

    Max Hatter

    November 27, 2009 at 9:04 am

  4. Merii Kha’sen > BETRAYAL

    \o/

    The best part about dishonoring ransoms is the tears from the e-honor crowd.

    Paul Clavet

    November 29, 2009 at 5:12 pm


Leave a Reply

